Storytime Share: Five Senses

10 12 2015

For my outreach storytimes in November, we read and talked about the five senses. Here’s the storytime plan:

Book:

coldcrunchycolorful

Cold, Crunchy, Colorful: Using Our Senses by Jane Brocket

Brocket uses simple text and colorful photos to introduce the five senses to readers. Preschool, Early Elementary

Activity: Talk about the five senses

Book:

letsplayfivesenses

Let’s Play a Five Senses Guessing Game by Amanda Miller & Joan Michael

Readers are encouraged to guess items based on a little boy’s descriptions of experiencing the objects using his senses and accompanying close-up photos. Preschool, Early Elementary

Fingerplay: “My Senses”

These are my eyes that let me see. (point to eyes)
This is my tongue that tastes for me. (point to tongue)
These are my ears that let me hear. (point to ears)
My hands and skin feel things that are near. (touch things with hands)
This is my nose that helps me smell, (point to nose)
My senses teach me very well.

Book:

rain

Rain by Manya Stojic; illustrated by author

African animals anticipate and experience a rainfall using their senses. Toddler, Preschool

Songs: “Rain Is Falling Down” and “Itsy Bitsy Spider”

Book:

fiveforlittleone.jpg

Five for a Little One by Chris Raschka; illustrated by the author

A little rabbit counts each of his senses and talks about the things he enjoys by using each of them. Toddler, Preschool

Activity: Animal Sound Guessing Game (Have children use their sense of hearing to guess stuffed animals hidden inside a barn based on the sounds each makes.)

Song: “Old MacDonald”

Book:

sensesfarm.jpg

Senses on the Farm by Shelley Rotner

Experience everything on the farm using sight, hearing, touch, taste, and smell. Toddler, Preschool

 

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

